14 Dec 2016

Council staff celebrated with awards

Exemplary council officers were celebrated on Friday (9 December 2016) evening, in recognition and thanks for their outstanding contributions to the Isle of Wight over the past 12 months.

In opening the event, John Metcalfe, chief executive and head of paid service, paid tribute to all council staff, and especially those in the room, identifying those assembled as “already winners”, because “someone has already recognised the quality and impact of what you do. Our awards evening allow us to remind ourselves how much great and outstanding work happens across the council; and the representation from each area shows that we are doing great work throughout our whole organisation; really making differences in people’s lives.”

54 nominations by managers were made from across the council, in eight categories, with recognition for colleagues as winners, highly commended and commended. All directorates were represented in both nominations and awards; the decision on whom to award was very difficult for members of the Executive and the chair of Employment Committee to make as the quality of nominations was very high. So much that the ‘Inspirational Employee’ category saw three exemplary officers awarded as winner; as it was simply too close to call! The ‘Team of the year’ award was won by the council’s Contact Centre, who at merely 16.8 full time equivalent posts fielded over 677,000 telephone calls throughout 2016; many of them highly complex.

Colleagues who have dedicated much of their working lives to the service of the Isle of Wight Council were also recognised. Thirteen colleagues received a certificate and paperweight to commemorate 25 years of service to the Isle of Wight Council from the chairman of the council, Councillor Charles Chapman, with two colleagues, Richard Grant and John Sands, receiving special tribute; having committed 40 years of service to the authority.

A mention was also offered to three long-time foster carer families, Reg and Darrell Moul, Mary Doyle, and Margaret and Roger Cameron, who between them have supported ninety foster children throughout their careers. Margaret and Roger Cameron have been foster carers for the local authority since 1976 and have personally supported 20 children.

John Metcalfe continued: “Events such as these are an important fixture in my calendar. We all live and work at an ever increasing pace and focus on the task at hand; rarely do we take the time to reflect on a job well done, or learn from and celebrate its success. For me, it is vital that our staff are given credit where it is most certainly due. Throughout a difficult year where much of our focus has been on finding a funding solution to support the future delivery of public services, I am proud of the strength and resolve of our excellent staff to keep their heads held high and to work so hard to move the organisation forward.

“The staff awards are one way that we can all learn from each other’s’ experiences and greatness, and inspire others to achieve the same standards by giving colleagues them the confidence to share what they are already doing.”

The awards were presented by members of the council and the council’s corporate management team.

The awards were:

(teams in brackets)

Innovative and Creative – presented by Councillor Jonathan Bacon, leader of the council and executive member for resources and children’s services

  • Commended: Michael Price (Revenues Business Support)
  • Highly commended: No Barriers/Mental Health Day Service
  • Winner: Richard Berry (Change and project support team 2)

Go for it! – presented by Councillor Dave Stewart, chair of scrutiny committee

  • Commended: Charlee Bowen and Steph Douglas-Robson (Children’s Services)
  • Highly commended: Craig Bulmer (Trading Standards)
  • Winner: Jo Sedgmond (Media team)

Working in support of others – presented by Councillor Steve Stubbings, deputy leader and executive member for adult social care and public health

  • Commended: Kelly Quinn (Early help commissioned services)
  • Highly commended: Kevin Winchcombe (Licensing) and Helen Turner (Community Safety)
  • Winner: Anne Bakewell (Libraries)

Building a better future for the Island – presented by Councillor Bob Blezzard, chair of Planning Committee

  • Commended: Organisational Change including Alex Minns and Danika Barber
  • Highly commended: Planning Services Administrative team
  • Winner: Adult & Community Learning team

Personal achievement – presented by Councillor Shirley Smart, executive member for planning, tourism and recreation, and culture

  • Commended: Andrew Wood (Revenue operations)
  • Highly commended: Kieran Tarrant (Facilities and Fleet Management)
  • Winner: Assessed & Supported Year in Employment (ASYE) Cohort 2015/16 (Children’s Services)

Inspirational employee – presented by Claire Shand, head of resources

  • Commended: Rory Fitzgerald (Legal)
  • Highly commended: James Potter (Trading Standards)
  • Winner: Simon Wiggins (Organisational Change), Pete Holland (Children in need team 2) and Georgina Jones (Learning and development team)

Bold and ambitious – presented by John Metcalfe, chief executive

  • Commended: Alison Cotton and Keily Proctor (Supporting People Review Officers team)
  • Highly commended: Civica PARIS Implementation team (ICT)
  • Winner: Local Area Coordination (LAC) Team (Public Health)

Team of the year – presented by Councillor Geoff Lumley, chair of employment committee

  • Commended: Senior Management Recruitment team
  • Highly commended: Single Point of Commissioning team
  • Winner: Contact Centre.

Share On
Share with MySpace Share with Google Plus Share with Yahoo Share with Twitter Share with Facebook
Related Services
Most Read
Most Shared
Congratulations to council staff award winners and those with 25+ years service to the Island
Congratulations to council staff award winners and those with 25+ years service to the Island
  • Awards were presented in eight categories, following 54 nominations for colleagues across the organisation
  • 13 colleagues received presentations for completing 25 years service to the Isle of Wight Council
  • Two colleagues were recognised for having been with the council for 40 years!
Isle of Wight, UK